As you already know, in the next version the Information Overlay settings will be saved (instead of reset to default), as well as player asterisks can now be hidden. But there is another problem (steps to reproduce):
- Disable the “Show player names” option.
- Travel a long distance in the galaxy, or through wormhole (long enough so that new player asterisks can enter your range)
- All new players in your range at that point will have their names shown, despite the “Show player names” option.
This option should be fixed so that when you disable this option, it should disable for all new players enter the range as well.